Visitation

Scan 5 - Version 2

Carlene and Carl

I was born on his birthday.

I share his name….and every year from the time I was born until I finished university and moved away, we would celebrate our birthdays together.

The baby years where all I wanted to do was grab the cake, through the awkward years where I was “too cool”,  to our last birthday together when he was in hospital.

I didn’t get to see him before he died.  Family members all went to be with him, to be present, say goodbye.  But I was too far away to get there.  I figured it was okay.  It hadn’t been that long since I had last seen him.  But when I got the call that he had died I felt not only loss, but a horrible sense of Scan 2 - Version 2guilt that I wasn’t there.

That night he came, in a dream that wasn’t a dream. He said to me that it was okay.  It was okay that I hadn’t been there, and that he loved me and he would always be with me. That was it.  So brief, yet with complete certainty it was him.

Today is our birthday and he is on my mind.

I know others who have had such visitations; from a child lost as a baby, a grandmother, a beloved dog.  The stories need to honored as much as the memory.

Scan 3 - Version 2Happy Birthday Grandpa.

4 comments on “Visitation

  1. I just had a conversation with a dear friend. We both were sharing about when our loved ones came to us in a dream that wasn’t a dream. I really love Science, Facts, Logic but at the end of our conversation we came to the same understanding~these visits were real!

    Thank you for writing this post. It means a great deal to me and so do you.
    Lisa

    • coleksyn says:

      Thanks for sharing that Lisa. I agree that there are many things that are not explained by science but essential to life. I appreciate your comments and continued connection!

  2. Jenn Banas says:

    Beautiful. I’m thankful for the amazing legacy he left behind in you. I have no doubt you will carry it well and pass it on to your children and children’s children. In this way, he remains and is never forgotten. How precious!
    Happy Birthday Carlene. Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

