Happy Birthday, Blog!

cc licensed ( BY ) flickr photo shared by synx508

“Why do you blog?”

This is a question I’ve been asked more than once.

It’s true, it is one more thing in a busy life.  As well, it can be vulnerable to put yourself out there, being open to negative commentary or the permanence of publishing thoughts that change over time.

It’s been a year since I started this journey with “Examined Life.”  I have learned and grown as a person and as a professional in ways I couldn’t have imagined when I started.

Blogging, for me, is all about connection.  I could write in a personal journal if I just wanted to reflect for myself, but blogging involves a dialogue; the sharing, reflection and refining of thoughts and ideas, considering others’ points of view I had never thought of, being challenged on my words and actions.  All of this adds up to me being stretched as a person and as a professional.  In essence, I am better because of it.

As I’ve connected more on a global level, I have seen some of the amazing things both friends and colleagues are doing and it has taken away some of the trepidation in my own life regarding change; to be more adventurous, less afraid of moving in directions I had not considered.  I have had to look outside of my personal box, which was quite comfortable, and consider the many different ways of approaching life and health care.  I have segued into consulting which I had never even considered, I’ve rediscovered my passion for my work and continued to adapt how I teach my children. It has helped me live more in the moment and be more grateful for my life.  Thanks to all of you who have read my ramblings and to those who have furthered my own learning with your comments and emails.  Happy Birthday, blog!

One comment on “Happy Birthday, Blog!

  1. connie kurtenbach says:

    Happy blog day!
    September and the Blue Moon cue me to head to my “office”: that is where the “little creator” dwells: artist, musician, writer.
    And that’s where I see you too.
    So now the harvest begins! Keep creating. It is inspiring.
    xxC.

Leave a Reply

