Welcome to my blog

My name is Carlene Oleksyn.
In my professional life I am a pharmacist practicing in the Edmonton area.
I am passionate about knowledge and personal empowerment in health care. I believe that the more knowledge a person has about their own body, how it works and how to keep it healthy, the better choices they are able to make.  I carry this belief in my professional practice and strive to enrich every patient I encounter with a deeper understanding of their own health.  My interest in health information technology naturally flows from the desire to engage patients in their own care.

On the personal side, I am passionate about living an examined life.  I believe that reflecting on life’s experiences leads to a happier, more fulfilled life and is also an avenue for personal growth.  One of the ways I reflect upon my life is to write about it.

Action Reflection Cycle

I have a deep love of music with an eclectic taste running the gamut of musical genres. Whether playing the piano or plugging into the ipod, I surround myself with good music as much as possible.

I am an avid runner and continue to set personal goals for myself.  Running is not only part of what I do for my physical health but also helps clear my mind and focus my energy.

I love good literature and a good novel just as much! Medical journals, blogs, health IT sites….I constantly have articles and several books on the go.  Continual learning is part of my nature.

I have, in the past seven years, either full time or part time home schooled my three sons.  This has given me invaluable time with them and incredible insight into how they learn.  It also keeps me challenged and engaged in their learning.  I am involved in Alternative Education as well as the Public school system and have a deep respect and love for the field.

I am a prairie girl who married a prairie boy who continues to inspire and challenge me. I still find awe in the blooming canola and wide open sky and love the freedom of the endless landscape.

Thanks for stopping by.


This entry was posted in About.

3 comments on “Welcome to my blog

  1. Diane Castle says:

    you are awesome and I MISS you alot!! I loved reading about the cabin, you have a real talent with writing!!! And you are an AWESOME MOM!!

    Lots of love and hugs
    Diane

  2. Phil Little says:

    Someone will say: Yes, Socrates, but cannot you hold your tongue, and then you may go into a foreign city, and no one will interfere with you? Now I have great difficulty in making you understand my answer to this. For if I tell you that this would be a disobedience to a divine command, and therefore that I cannot hold my tongue, you will not believe that I am serious; and if I say that the greatest good of a man is daily to converse about virtue, and all that concerning which you hear me examining myself and others, and that the life which is unexamined is not worth living–that you are still less likely to believe.
    Apology, 37e-38a

    we cannot argue with Socrates, can we? Life needs to be examined so that it can be lived. I will think of Alice when I look out from our deck which faces east, looking at Kuper (now called Penelakut Island) and Thetis Is.

    Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

