Are We Meant to Be?

Often this question is asked when we are searching for a love interest, a partner, someone to share our lives with.  However, there have been a few times in my life where I met someone and I just knew down to the core that this person was meant to come into my life and would somehow become an irreplaceable part of it.

One of these moments occurred when I was a 22 year old new pharmacist and embarking on a new phase in my personal relationship with a man who recently left the priesthood and moved out to Vancouver Island to be with me.  We attended a CORPUS  conference in Victoria and at one of the keynotes, a couple walked out to address the group.  Looking at the female part of this team, a woman in her fifties, a former Catholic nun married to a former Catholic priest, I just knew, with complete clarity, this woman would be linked to my life.  There was no doubt in my mind that it was essential for me to get to know her.
It didn’t take long before Connie was an integral part of my life.  She became in the truest sense my mentor.  Sir Ken Robinson says in his book “The Element”:
[Mentors] take a unique and personal place in our lives.  Mentors open doors for us and get involved directly in our journeys.  They show us the next steps and encourage us to take them.
Connie has since been my mentor, my friend and my guide.  She has walked me through healing of past trauma and she and her husband presided over our marriage ceremony. We’ve been on retreat together, built communities together, and Connie continues to this day to be a steady guide when I encounter rocky shores.   Sometimes, it is just meant to be.
3 comments on “Are We Meant to Be?

  1. Shawn Ram says:

    It appears that you have found a great connection, mentor and friend in Connie. I think that you are right, that there are times that you just know that when you meet someone that they will in some way be an important part of you life. The only thing that we don’t know is how long they will be in our lives.

    Thank you for sharing.

  2. Jenn Banas says:

    This reminds me of my mentor, Marilyn Skinner, the co-founder of Watoto. She literally changed the course of my life by her influence, and I’m a deeper, more mature woman because of her influence. I had no idea the impact she would have on my life; what a marvelous surprise; what an invaluable gift. My goal is now to BE that for others; pass it along.

  3. Phil Little says:

    lovely tribute to a mutual friend who is as you described her – a mentor!

Leave a Reply

